NATIONAL EARTHQUAKE HAZARDS REDUCTION PROGRAM (NEHRP) ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON EARTHQUAKE HAZARDS REDUCTION (ACEHR)

26-27 MARCH 2024 HYBRID MEETING AGENDA NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION (NSF) ROOM 3410 HOFFMAN TOWN CENTER 2415 EISENHOWER AVENUE, ALEXANDRIA, VA 22314

Meeting Goal:

• Receive NEHRP agency responses to ACEHR's 2023 biennial report recommendations

All times shown below are Eastern Daylight Time.

Tuesday, 26 March				
Time	Торіс	Discussion Leader		
Opening Remarks				
9:00 – 9:05 am 9:05 – 9:20 am	Call to Order Meeting Logistics Roll Call Welcome and Opening Remarks	Tina Faecke Designated Federal Officer Materials and Structural Systems Division Engineering Laboratory National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Dan Linzell Division Director for Civil, Mechanical, and Manufacturing Innovation		
		Engineering Directorate National Science Foundation (NSF) Thyagarajan Nandagopal Division Director for Innovation and Technology Ecosystems Technology Directorate, NSF Dena Smith-Nufio Division Director of Earth Sciences		
9:20 – 9:30 am	Meeting Goals	Geosciences Directorate, NSF Lucy Arendt ACEHR Chairperson Professor of Management St. Norbert College		
Annual Ethics Briefing				
9:30 – 10:00 am	Ethics Briefing/Q&A	Caitlin Langfitt Attorney Advisor Ethics Law and Programs Office Office of the General Counsel U.S. Department of Commerce		
10:00 – 10:15 am	Public Input Period	Tina Faecke		

Tuesday, 26 March				
Time	Topic	Discussion Leader		
10:15 – 10:30 am	Break			
ACEHR 2023 Report Feedback				
10:30 – 11:45 am 11:45 am – 12:15	NEHRP Responses to the September 30, 2023 ACEHR Report Recommendations Program Response to ACEHR Recommendations NEHRP Responses to 2023 ACEHR Report Recommendations Q&A/Open Discussion	John (Jay) Harris Acting NEHRP Director Materials and Structural Systems Division Engineering Laboratory, NIST Bill Blanton Earthquake & Wind Programs Branch Chief Federal Insurance and Mitigation Admin. Federal Emergency Management Agency Luciana Astiz Program Director Division of Earth Sciences Geosciences Directorate, NSF Jacqueline Meszaros Science and Technology Advisor Natural Hazards, Disasters and Resilience Division of Civil, Mechanical and Manufacturing Innovation Engineering Directorate, NSF Michael Blanpied Senior Science Advisor for Earthquake and Geologic Hazards U.S. Geological Survey Siamak Sattar Acting Earthquake Engineering Group Leader Materials and Structural Systems Division Engineering Laboratory, NIST Lucy Arendt		
pm 12:15 – 1:45 pm	Committee Group Photo and Lunch			
1:45 – 3:00 pm	Q&A/Open Discussion	Lucy Arendt		
2.00 P.m.	Earthquake Insurance Presentation	•		
3:00 – 3:30 pm	Overview of Insurance to Support Resilience	Daniel Kaniewski Managing Director, Public Sector Marsh McLennan		
3:30 – 3:45 pm	Q&A/Open Discussion	Lucy Arendt		

Tuesday, 26 March				
Time	Topic	Discussion Leader		
3:45 – 4:00 pm	Break			
4:00 – 4:30 pm	Earthquake Insurance in California Overview	Janiele Maffei Chief Mitigation Officer California Earthquake Authority		
4:30 – 4:55 pm	Q&A/Open Discussion	Lucy Arendt		
4:55 – 5:00 pm	Closing Remarks	Tina Faecke		
5:00 pm	Adjourn for the Day	Tina Faecke		

Wednesday, 27 March				
Time	Topic	Discussion Leader		
9:00 – 9:10 am	Call to Order	Tina Faecke		
	Roll Call			
9:10 – 9:20 am	Meeting Goals	Lucy Arendt		
Preparedness and Response Presentation				
9:20 – 9:55 am	Administration for Strategic Preparedness and Response (ASPR) Overview	Darrin Donato Director, Policy Division U.S. Department of Health and Human		
0.77 10.17		Services Lucy Arounds		
9:55 – 10:15 am	Q&A/Open Discussion	Lucy Arendt		
NEHRP Website Discussion				
10:15 – 10:45 am	Open Discussion on NEHRP Website Facelift	Lucy Arendt		
10:45 – 11:00 am	Break			
SESAC Update				
11:00 – 11:10 am	Scientific Earthquake Studies Advisory Committee (SESAC) Update	Michael Hamburger SESAC Chair Indiana University		
11:10 – 11:20 am	Q&A/Open Discussion	Lucy Arendt		
ACEHR 2025 Report Discussion				
11:20 am – 12:15 pm	Open Discussion on 2025 ACEHR Report Topics	Lucy Arendt		
12:15 – 1:25 pm	Lunch			
1:25 – 2:00 pm	Future Meetings and Presentations Open Discussion	Lucy Arendt		
2:00 pm	Adjourn	Tina Faecke		